Together we are #ETFOstrong

Wednesday, Aug 14

Diane Dewing wins President’s Award

Sam Hammond and Diane Dewing

Congratulations to Diane Dewing on winning the President’s Award for outstanding service to ETFO members as OTF Representative, and indeed to all Ontario teachers this past year as OTF President.  At the provincial level, Diane has served on 10 ETFO task forces, the Regulation 274 Workgroup as well as the Collective Bargaining, Hiring, and Budget […]

Award for Outstanding Service as an ETFO Staff Member: Susan Thede

Susan Thede joined the staff of the Federation of Women Teachers’ Associations of Ontario (FWTAO) in 1991. Prior to this Susan was a local president and chief negotiator in Dryden.  Susan was hired by FWTAO to advise and provide leadership training to women in positions of added responsibility in schools across the province. Susan’s skills […]

Award for Outstanding Service as an ETFO Staff Member: Lorraine Stewart

Lorraine began her teaching career in East York. She was elected local president and then chief negotiator for the Metro Toronto locals before being hired by FWTAO to work in collective bargaining. Those early Federation years were exciting times organizing strikes and rallies before the arrival of cell phones and fax machines. Lorraine’s biggest project […]

Honorary Life Member Award Winner: Susan Swackhammer

Media Release Susan began her career as a primary teacher in the Brant County Board of Education.  She resigned after six years to begin her family. Of course, for many reasons, not the least of which was another income, after taking a 15 year leave to raise her children she returned to occasional teaching because […]

Honorary Life Member Award Winner: Ken Collins

Media Release Ken’s contributions to ETFO and greater teacher advocacy has spanned the better part of three decades. As an ETFO teacher, local union leader and provincial union leader, Ken’s efforts to assist teachers, schools and their communities to thrive has been a constant.  He has made a real difference with his actions. Most recently, […]

The 2019-2021 Executive in photos

Media Release Here is your 2019-2021 ETFO Provincial Executive in photos. Click thumbnails for captions. Photos by Kathryn Gaitens.  

Election Results: Executive Members

Returning Officer Uloma Onyido

After delegates voted to extend Session 6 some two and a half hours beyond its scheduled end time to finish the voting for the 2019-2021 Executive, Returning Officer Uloma Onyido announced the following candidates elected: Executive Member (Open) Amy Chevis, Simcoe County Occasional Teacher Local Media Release Joy Lachica, Elementary Teachers of Toronto Local Media […]

Nathan Core elected as OTF Representative

Nathan Core

Nathan Core from the Waterloo Region Occasional Teacher Local has been elected as OTF Representative. The following release has been sent to media: Waterloo Region teacher Nathan Core elected as ETFO rep to the Ontario Teachers’ Federation For Immediate Release – August 14, 2019 TORONTO, ON – Delegates to the 2019 Annual Meeting of the […]

ETFO Standing Committee chairpersons recognized

Standing Committee Chairpersons

  Just prior to the start of Session 6 ETFO Standing Committee chairpersons were available in the Grand Ballroom to meet with delegates and answer any questions. Following that, they were called to the stage and their work on behalf of members was acknowledged by First Vice-President Karen Campbell and Vice-Presidents Rusnak and Lawler. The […]

Rusnak re-elected Vice-President (Female)

Monica Rusnak

Monica Rusnak has been re-elected Vice-President (Female) at Annual Meeting 2019. Monica joined the Provincial Executive in 2010 and was first elected as ETFO Vice-President in 2017. The following release has been sent to media: Ontario North East teacher Monica Rusnak re-elected Vice-President of Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario For Immediate Release – August 14, […]

© 2019 - The Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario | Privacy & Terms of Use | Accessibility | Login
Skip to content