Together we are #ETFOstrong

  • Photo booth photo
    A collection from the Photo Booth

Photos from Thursday: #ETFOstrong!

Here is a selection of photos from Session 7. We are #ETFOstrong!  All photos by Kathryn Gaitens.

A collection from the photo booth

Here is a selection of photos from the Photo Booth. Thanks to all delegates who stopped by, on their own or in groups, to send a strong message to the government that #CutsHurtKids.

Photos from Annual Dinner

Here is a selection of photos from the Annual Dinner and the award presentation. All photos by Kathryn Gaitens.

The President’s Closing Address

Sam Hammond delivering his closing address

  In his Closing Address President Hammond thanked delegates for participating in the democratic process of the union and talked about the importance of ensuring that we continue to mobilize. “I thank you for your unwavering belief in the importance of protecting public education,” President Hammond said. “I look forward to continuing to build a […]

Parent activist addresses delegates

Jessica Lyons

This morning President Hammond invited parent activist Jessica Lyons from West End Parents for Public Education to address Annual Meeting delegates. “My message today is simple,” Lyons began. “Parents are with you. Across the province parents are standing with educators and pledge solidarity with you in organizing and job action. We can protect public education […]

Media Coverage

Monica Rusnak Re-Elected Vice-President of ETFO – My Timmins Now Hamilton teacher union head readies for class-size fight – Hamilton News Local teachers’ union leaders in Toronto gearing up for ‘big fight’ as contracts expire at end of month – CBC News

Photos from Wednesday

Here is a selection of photos from Sessions 5 and 6 by official photographer Kathryn Gaitens.

Diane Dewing wins President’s Award

Sam Hammond and Diane Dewing

Congratulations to Diane Dewing on winning the President’s Award for outstanding service to ETFO members as OTF Representative, and indeed to all Ontario teachers this past year as OTF President.  At the provincial level, Diane has served on 10 ETFO task forces, the Regulation 274 Workgroup as well as the Collective Bargaining, Hiring, and Budget […]

Award for Outstanding Service as an ETFO Staff Member: Susan Thede

Susan Thede joined the staff of the Federation of Women Teachers’ Associations of Ontario (FWTAO) in 1991. Prior to this Susan was a local president and chief negotiator in Dryden.  Susan was hired by FWTAO to advise and provide leadership training to women in positions of added responsibility in schools across the province. Susan’s skills […]

Award for Outstanding Service as an ETFO Staff Member: Lorraine Stewart

Lorraine began her teaching career in East York. She was elected local president and then chief negotiator for the Metro Toronto locals before being hired by FWTAO to work in collective bargaining. Those early Federation years were exciting times organizing strikes and rallies before the arrival of cell phones and fax machines. Lorraine’s biggest project […]

© 2019 - The Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario | Privacy & Terms of Use | Accessibility | Login
Skip to content